Apply

Application Criteria

  • US citizen or permanent resident
  • Concurrently applying to a PhD program at the University of Florida
  • Primary research interest in substance abuse

Application Instructions

Send all of the following documents to Tamara Millay. Documents should be addressed to Dr. Linda B. Cottler, Director, and Dr. Sara Jo Nixon, Co-Director.

  • NIDA T32 application form
  • Writing sample
  • Two letters of recommendation from mentors or professors
    • Your letters of recommendation may be sent from your PhD application to your T32 application, if desired.
  • One-page statement of specific aims and research training goals
  • Curriculum vitae (CV)

Program Administrator

Tamara A Millay

Tamara A Millay

Administrative Spec II
Phone: (352) 294-5963

Program Directors

Linda B Cottler
Department: PHHP-COM EPIDEMIOLOGY

Linda B Cottler

Dean's Professor And Associate Dean
Phone: (352) 294-5947
Sara J Nixon
Department: MD-PSYCHIATRY

Sara J Nixon

Professor & Co-Vice Chair
Phone: (352) 294-4920

Program Mentors

Name Title Department Email
Robert L Cook Professor PHHP-COM EPIDEMIOLOGY cookrl@ufl.edu
Linda B Cottler Dean’s Professor And Associate Dean PHHP-COM EPIDEMIOLOGY lbcottler@ufl.edu
Roger B Fillingim PROFESSOR DN-COMMUNITY DENTISTRY rfilling@ufl.edu
Bruce A Goldberger Chief, Director And Professor MD-PATHOLOGY goldbeba@pathology.ufl.edu
Kelly K Gurka Assistant Professor Of Epidemiology PHHP-COM EPIDEMIOLOGY kgurka@ufl.edu
Catalina Lopez-Quintero Assistant Professor PHHP-COM EPIDEMIOLOGY catalinalopezqui@mail.ufl.edu
Anna M McDaniel Dean And Linda Harman Aiken Professor College of Nursing Dean’s Office annammcdaniel@ufl.edu
Lisa J Merlo Associate Professor MD-PSYCHIATRY lmerlo@ufl.edu
Sara J Nixon Professor & Co-Vice Chair MD-PSYCHIATRY sjnixon@ufl.edu
Mattia Prosperi Dr. PHHP-COM EPIDEMIOLOGY m.prosperi@ufl.edu
Catherine L Striley Associate Professor (Catherine Woodstock Striley) PHHP-COM EPIDEMIOLOGY cstriley@ufl.edu
Almut Winterstein Professor & Chair; Director, Center For Drug Evaluation & Safety (CoDES) Pharmaceutical Outcomes & Policy almut@ufl.edu
Henry W Young, II Assistant Residency Program Director; Clinical Assistant Professor MD-EMERGENCY MED-CLINICAL hyoungii@ufl.edu