Meet Our Faculty

Acting Chair

Peihua Qiu

Peihua Qiu

Professor
Phone: (352) 294-5911
Email: pqiu@ufl.edu

Core Faculty

Xinguang Chen

Xinguang Chen

Professor Of Epidemiology
Phone: (352) 294-5945
Ting-Yuan D Cheng

Ting-Yuan D Cheng

Assistant Professor
Phone: (352) 294-5495
Research Interests:
  • Cancer epidemiology
  • Cancer survivorship
  • Energy balance and cancer
  • Health Disparities
  • Molecular pathological epidemiology
Robert L Cook

Robert L Cook M.D., M.P.H.

Professor
Phone: (352) 273-5869
Linda B Cottler

Linda B Cottler

Dean’s Professor And Associate Dean
Phone: (352) 294-5947
Kelly K Gurka

Kelly K Gurka

Assistant Professor Of Epidemiology
Phone: (352) 273-5362
Research Interests:
  • Injury Epidemiology
  • Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology
  • Substance Use Epidemiology, particularly opioids
  • Consequences of substance use, including overdose and neonatal abstinence syndrome
  • Impact of SARS-CoV-2 on pregnant women, especially vulnerable populations such as women with SUD
  • Impact of health policy related to prescribing practices
Mark W Hart

Mark W Hart

ADJ CLIN AST PROF
Phone: (352) 273-8545
Hui Hu

Hui Hu PhD

Assistant Professor
Phone: (352) 294-5944
Email: huihu@ufl.edu
Research Interests:
  • Environmental, Cardiovascular, and Perinatal Epidemiology
  • Exposome
  • Health Disparities
  • Integration of Multi-Type, Multi-Scale Health Data
  • Machine Learning
  • Precision Health
Catalina Lopez-Quintero

Catalina Lopez-Quintero

Assistant Professor
Phone: (352) 273-6086
Volker Mai

Volker Mai

Associate Professor
Phone: (352) 273-9398
Email: vmai@ufl.edu
Simone Marini

Simone Marini

RES AST PROF
Phone: (352) 273-5468
Cindy A Prins

Cindy A Prins

Assistant Dean For Educational Affairs
Phone: (352) 294-8576
Huaizhen Qin

Huaizhen Qin

Research Assistant Professor
Phone: (352) 273-5468
Email: hqin@ufl.edu
Jerne J Shapiro

Jerne J Shapiro

Faculty
Phone: (352) 273-6861
Ronald Shorr, I

Ronald Shorr, I

Research Professor
Phone: (352) 548-6077
Catherine L Striley

Catherine L Striley PhD, MSW, MPE

Associate Professor
Phone: (352) 273-5359
Krishna Vaddiparti

Krishna Vaddiparti

RES AST PROF
Phone: (352) 273-5746
Deepthi S Varma

Deepthi S Varma

Faculty
Phone: (352) 294-5941
Yan Wang

Yan Wang

Assistant Professor
Phone: (352) 294-5942
Lusine Yaghjyan

Lusine Yaghjyan

AST PROF
Phone: (352) 294-5940
Jinying Zhao

Jinying Zhao MD, PhD

Director, Division Of Genetic Epidemiology Professor, Department Of Epidemiology Preeminence Faculty
Phone: (352) 273-5933

Joint Faculty

Sonja A Rasmussen

Sonja A Rasmussen

Professor
Phone: (352) 273-5934
Email: skr9@ufl.edu

Graduate Faculty

Graduate faculty may serve as supervisory committee co-chairs and internal members, but they may not serve as supervisory committee chairs.

Name Title Department Email
Rebecca J Beyth Rebecca J Beyth Professor, Associate Residency Program Director MD-INTERNAL MEDICINE rbeyth@ufl.edu
Babette Brumback Babette Brumback Professor And Associate Chair For Education PHHP-COM BIOSTATISTICS brumback@ufl.edu
Muna Canales Muna Canales Assistant Professor Of Medicine MD-NEPHROLOGY muna.canales@medicine.ufl.edu
Peter J Carek Peter J Carek Professor & Chair MD-CHFM-GEN ADMINISTRATION carek@ufl.edu
Yenisel Cruz-Almeida Yenisel Cruz-Almeida Assistant Professor & Director Of Training And Career Development DN-COMMUNITY DENTISTRY cryeni@ufl.edu
Awewura Kwara Awewura Kwara Professor Of Medicine MD-INFECTIOUS DISEASES awewura.kwara@medicine.ufl.edu
Michael Lauzardo Michael Lauzardo Associate Professor Of Medicine; Deputy Director Of Emerging Pathogens Institute MD-MEDICINE GLOBAL HEALTH lauzam@medicine.ufl.edu
Ira M Longini, Jr Ira M Longini, Jr Professor PHHP-COM BIOSTATISTICS ilongini@ufl.edu
Todd Manini Todd Manini Professor; Chief, Division Of EDGE MD-AGING-CLINICAL RESEARCH tmanini@ufl.edu
John G Morris John G Morris Director, Emerging Pathogens Institute SR-EMERGING PATHOGENS jgmorris@epi.ufl.edu
Michael G Perri Michael G Perri DEAN HP-OFFICE OF THE DEAN mperri@phhp.ufl.edu
Marco Salemi Marco Salemi Professor MD-PATHOLOGY-GENERAL salemi@pathology.ufl.edu
Stephanie Staras Stephanie Staras Associate Professor And Division Director MD-HOP-GENERAL sstaras@mail.ufl.edu
Scott L Tomar Scott L Tomar Professor PHHP-COM EPIDEMIOLOGY stomar@dental.ufl.edu
Almut Winterstein Almut Winterstein Professor & Chair; Director, Center For Drug Evaluation & Safety (CoDES) Pharmaceutical Outcomes & Policy almut@ufl.edu