Shapiro, Wijayabahu, and team receive Exemplary Online Award

Ms. Jerne Shapiro and Ms. Akemi WijayabahuThe Exemplary Online Awards (EOA) are intended to recognize exemplary and innovative practices in online teaching and course production. Jerne Shapiro, MPH, lecturer in Epidemiology, and Akemi Wijayabahu, doctoral student in Epidemiology, along with Dean’s Office staff Truly Hardemon, Eva Egensteiner, and Hillary Carter, were awarded a 2020 EOA for their work on PHC4101 Public Health Concepts. Shapiro served as the instructor for the course; Wijayabahu served as the teaching assistant and, with Shapiro, developed an assignment for the course entitled “Personal Happiness and Health: A Life-Long Assignment.”

From left to right: Jerne Shapiro, Akemi Wijayabahu